Phase 3 of Lok Sabha Election Polls

The Third Phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections held in 15 states, are now complete. Elections were held in Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli as well. The Third Phase of the election, were for 117 Lok Sabha seats. Now the elections for 302 out of 543 Lok Sabha seats are over. The elections were held peacefully in most of the states, except for a few minor incidents. Some of the candidates in these elections were, BJP president Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Gujarat, BJP’s Alphons Kannanthanam, Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi, who is contesting from Wayanad. Congress leaders Shashi Tharoor, Mallikarjun Kharge and Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav. In the Third Phase of the elections, the total percentage of people who voted were 67%. In the 2014 Lok Sabha Elections, it was 69.3% Two Indian states recorded the highest percentage of voter turnout. Tripura recorded a voter turnout of 81.6% and Assam recorded a voter turnout of 80.8%. In Assam 800 people boycotted the elections due to problems over the application of government schemes. Anantnag district in J&K recorded a voter percentage of 12.9%. In the 2014 elections, the voter turnout in the same place was 39.37%. In Anantnag the polling staff were travelling in a vehicle, when they met with an accident by falling into a gorge. One policeman died and 5 were injured. In Murshidabad, West Bengal a congress activist was killed. The Congress have blamed Trinamool Congress, but they have denied the charges. In Kovalam in Thiruvananthapuram voters complained of problems with EVM machines. 76 votes had already been placed. The voters were unable to place their votes. The problem was that, the button allotted to the Congress candidate was jammed. The machine was immediately replaced. PM Modi cast his vote at a polling booth in Ahmedabad. He even conducted a road show. The Congress complaint against them. The EC has asked the Ahmedabad District Election Office to conduct an inquiry. 22 states and union territories have now finished voting. 8 more states are yet to votes.

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *